Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bow problem

Old 10-29-2006, 08:53 PM

Default Bow problem

Got a big problem with my bow. I've been shooting a Switchback for 2 years. Love it. Out of the blue last week my bow started shooting high 6 inches. I look the bow over and can't find anything. Try different arrows. Same result so I raise my sight. Everything is good. A few days later I'm shooting and it's shooting 6 inches low so I lower my sight. Everything is good. Today it's shooting 6 inches high again.

I'm at a loss...especially since it's the last two weeks of bow season. Every bolt is tight. Nothing looks bent. No damage that I can see. I haven't done anything to this bow. Any ideas?

Thanks.
Old 10-29-2006, 09:23 PM

Default RE: Bow problem

If your form is good and you are a consistent shooter, it could be string stretch from the stock mathews strings. If you got custom strings then I would look elsewhere.

Your nock point isnt changing is it?
Are you anchoring at the same spot every shot?

Also was it a consistent shooter over the previous two years you've owned it?
Old 10-29-2006, 11:05 PM

It sounds like the loop is moving up and down. Or to put it another way, the nock point is inconsistant.
Old 10-30-2006, 04:36 AM