Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Fletching Glue

Old 10-18-2006, 06:44 AM

Default Fletching Glue

What fletching glue do you folks use? i'm using Bohning Fletch Tite Platinum, and I'm not very impressed with it.
Old 10-18-2006, 06:49 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Fletching Glue

I use AAE fast set gel and get excellent results with both feathers andblazers on carbon arrows.
Old 10-18-2006, 06:51 AM

I have had not problems with my fletch-tite platinum. But at the shop I work at we use Pine Ridge glue. It is some great stuff and sets up extremely fast!
Old 10-18-2006, 06:54 AM

The problem I am having is, my fletches seem to set up perfectly fine, but they only last about 15 or 20 shots before they start peeling back.....I'm also kinda new at fletching, so I might be doing something wrong.
Old 10-18-2006, 08:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

I, too, use the Fletch-Tite, with great success.

Make sure your shafts are clean. Also, make sure the entire groove of the fletch is covered with the glue. For 4 inch vanes I apply 5 drops of glue and smear it along the entire groove of the fletch. When you apply the fletch to the shaft, press down a little to make sure the fletch and glue contact with the shaft. Give it a few seconds to dry and adhere to the shaft, a minute at the most. Now, If you're using aluminums, you have to give it several minutes! I hate doing aluminums, especially helical feathers on aluminums. [:'(]

Good luck!
Old 10-18-2006, 09:08 AM