Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Waxing a Bow String? >

Waxing a Bow String?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Waxing a Bow String?

Old 09-17-2006, 05:49 PM

Default Waxing a Bow String?

How often should you wax a string on today's compound bows?

Could you do any damage by over waxing?

I have used Bohning Wax for years and just curious to see how everyone else does it.

Thanks!
Old 09-17-2006, 06:00 PM

Default RE: Waxing a Bow String?

i just wax mine every time the string starts to get a little fuzz hanging from it. Since Im not an expert, Im not really sure how often youre "supposed" to do it, I imagine waxing it every time after shooting wouldnt really hurt anything.
Old 09-17-2006, 06:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

I wax mine when I see it starting to fray a bit, which is usuallyat least oncemonth.
Old 09-17-2006, 06:19 PM

I wax mine every Monday whether it needs it or not.
Old 09-17-2006, 06:19 PM
Giant Nontypical

i do mine every week depending on how much i shot. if im shooting alot ill wax it a little more often. i heard a good rule of thumb is when it looks dry its time to wax. when its good its...shiny..when it drys its dull....
Old 09-17-2006, 06:25 PM

Does anyone use a hair dryer or just the heat from your fingers?
Old 09-17-2006, 06:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

I wax mine and the harness after I shoot it every day and no you can not over wax your string. When I bought a bow from the PSE truck years ago the PSE rep told me if I wax my string after each time I use it it will increase the string and harness life X2 and by god he was right. That was 3 bows ago and the tip has never failed me. And at almost $100.00 for a string and cables I'm going to keep doing it.
Old 09-17-2006, 07:05 PM
Nontypical Buck