HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   peep dilema!! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/137230-peep-dilema.html)

mharris 03-21-2006 06:28 PM

peep dilema!!

I've been shooting a High Country Safari for 15 years without a peep, this year I decide to buy a '06 Bowtech Tomkat. The thing is that the High Country is about 42" axle to axle and the Tomkat is about 32" axle to axle.
I've tried to shoot the Tomkat without a peep, but with it being 10" shorter; I'm having problems anchoring at the same point everytime due to the extreme string angle with a short bow. This is a 2 part question.... who shoots peeps and non peeps, and if you do shoot peeps; what kind of peep do you shoot. I do know I don't like the tupe peeps or small peeps that don't let enough light through... which is why I didn't use them for so long.

fufanu360 03-21-2006 06:34 PM

RE: peep dilema!!

may sound crazy but use a hunting (1/4") peep for everything... as loong as you center it each shot it is very accurate. it is also great for letting the light in

mharris 03-21-2006 06:44 PM

what do you mean by a hunting 1/4" peep?? What brand name?

iowadeadeye 03-21-2006 06:53 PM

mharris, you could try a no-peep made by timberline. it's a device that mounts above or below your sight. basicly you line a dot inside of a circle. and if your not anchored the same as you should be-the dot will be to one side of the circle or the other, or up or down, however your tourquing your bow. however it doesen't impeded your vision. I think thier web is timberlinearchery.com

BF1947 03-21-2006 08:19 PM

Answering your last question about peeps, two come to mind. Fletcher and Specialty.

Fletcher makes a 1/4" hunter peep that I use on my hunting bow.