Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Correct Arrow Length >

Correct Arrow Length

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Correct Arrow Length

Old 09-05-2005, 01:31 PM

Default Correct Arrow Length

Hello all. As my "handle" suggests, I'm new to bow hunting/shooting. I've hunted all my life but never with a bow. I'm 32 years old and after just about a week of shooting in my backyard......I wish I would have taken up the "sport" a LONG time ago. It's a blast.

I am going to post some questions that will almost certainly be obvious to just about everyone in this forum but me, so please be respectful of that.

Question #1. Correct Arrow Length.

My bow is setup at 64# with a 27" draw length. I bought the bow, a 2004 Martin Mag Cat at Dicks Sporting Goods and was "fitted" for it by the staff. The guy who fitted me seemed to be very knowledgable. The arrows he suggested were an 8 pack of Carbon Rebel 6075. They are 32" long!! See attached photo (any suggestions regarding my form would be appreciated too!)

I had my wife mark a damaged arrow with a silver sharpie at the front of the riser at full draw....naturally it measured out at 27". What should I have the arrows trimmed at? 27" or 28"?

Old 09-05-2005, 01:36 PM

Default RE: Correct Arrow Length

Here's the attachment....was WAY too big on the first attempt.

Old 09-05-2005, 01:44 PM

My advice would be to try a few cut 1" past the far side of the riser at full draw. It will increase your speed and give a little extra safety for broadheads. Check out the FOC on the first one you cut, you may want to adjust the length and or tip weight.
Old 09-05-2005, 01:49 PM
Giant Nontypical

Yes you need to shorten those babies up. One inch past the arrow rest is where I cut mine. Looks like you could loose almost 8 inches.
Old 09-05-2005, 01:57 PM