HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   opinions on pendulum sights>? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/104516-opinions-pendulum-sights.html)

switchbackboy24 07-02-2005 07:53 PM

opinions on pendulum sights>?

hey guys i wanted yalls opinon on the pendulum sights for a mathews switchback...i am goin to be hunting out of a tree stand and if u no any good pendulum sights let me kno them to...another question...would u go with pendulum or regular pin sights in my case?

DaveC 07-03-2005 04:51 AM

RE: opinions on pendulum sights>?

I've been shooting pendalums for the past ~ 7 years and just this year have made the switch to a single pin slider. (Vital bow gear, proslide)
Not being able to just point and shoot is going to be a hard transition and who knows what sight will be on my bow after this season. If things don't go my way with the sliderI will switch back to a pendulum in a heartbeat.
The latest version I moved to my back-up bow is a Savage Pendulum with a secondary pin and tritium primary pin. I don't really care for the way the secondary pin hides in front of the post for the primary, but aside from that the normally only come w/ 1 pin anyways ( the secondaries are special order).
If you go with a savage (great sight) make sure to get one that has the steel sight guard. the pivot points are in the guard and my steel model is quieter than the plastic housing model Iused to have.

With todays speeds the pendulum has lost favor with a lot of hunters who have just switched to a single pin setup. Time will tell for this guy.

Good luck with your decision.

WBowhunt 07-04-2005 04:39 AM