Technical Help Post your technical questions here, such as those pertaining to posting, replying, images, etc. DO NOT POST HUNTING QUESTIONS HERE!!!!

Think I got hacked

Reply

Old 09-12-2015, 06:16 AM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,555
Default Think I got hacked

once in a while I open up the main forums page, the page starts to open, then switches to an American express banner on an otherwise blank page. this may go on for 5 minutes or 2 days, then its back to normal.
when it occurs, I right click on the banner, click properties and the url says huntingnet.com/forums
anyone else experience this?
RR
Ridge Runner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 10:14 AM
  #2  
Super Moderator
 
CalHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 16,583
Default

Which browser are you using and what version? Other people have been having similar issues, usually with IE.
CalHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 02:16 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,555
Default

its IE I think 12, only been happening for a month or so, mostly happens just after windows 8.1 updates
RR
Ridge Runner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 02:43 PM
  #4  
Boone & Crockett
 
Oldtimr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 11,825
Default

I had the same problem with IE, I switched to google chrome as a search engine and have had no problems since.
Oldtimr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 08:40 PM
  #5  
Super Moderator
 
CalHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 16,583
Default

I'm using Firefox version 40 on windows 7 and was able to fix part of that problem by updating Firefox and cleaning out my cache and cookies.
CalHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 05:12 AM
  #6  
Boone & Crockett
 
Oldtimr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: south eastern PA
Posts: 11,825
Default

What is seems to be is an ad that would be on the page in a much smaller size. For some reason it would go all across the top of the page and the rest of the page would be blank. When things went back to normal, the ad would still be there in the normal size on the right side of the page.
Oldtimr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 04:54 PM
  #7  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 509
Default

If this continues after today, please let me know.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 07:33 PM
  #8  
Super Moderator
 
CalHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 16,583
Default

Do the techs think they have it fixed?
CalHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 06:12 PM
  #9  
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 509
Default

They did, but now maybe not. Let me know.
IBobi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 06:32 PM
  #10  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,555
Default

happened once today, I closed the site, an hour later it was fine, hasn't happened since.
RR
Ridge Runner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service