Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
Typical Costs of a Deer Mount? >

Typical Costs of a Deer Mount?

Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Typical Costs of a Deer Mount?

Old 08-11-2019, 05:43 PM
Spike

Default Typical Costs of a Deer Mount?

Hey guys,

I'm new to hunting but I'm looking to take my first buck this fall. I've been thinking about mounting my first harvested deer, but I'm not sure if I'll be able to afford it. How much is a typical shoulder mount for a white tail in your areas? I'm SE PA if it makes a difference.
Old 08-11-2019, 05:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

on average I would guess any where from 300 to 500 bucks is the norm, range IMO!
a lot depends on the person doing the work, there skill level and well, what they charge
NOT all taxidermists are up to the same skill set, I highly recommend you learn some things to look for on mounts, to tell GOOD from bad one's and then go visit some taxidermist near you and see what there work looks like!
a good taxidermist that is ALWAYS consistent, is rather hard ti find IMO
and some time,s price has NOTHING to do with quality either!
also ask for turn around times, and if you drop anything off, get something in writing with prices and estimated return time!
Old 12-14-2019, 11:44 AM
Spike

Default Prices for dee

Originally Posted by mrbb
on average I would guess any where from 300 to 500 bucks is the norm, range IMO!
a lot depends on the person doing the work, there skill level and well, what they charge
NOT all taxidermists are up to the same skill set, I highly recommend you learn some things to look for on mounts, to tell GOOD from bad one's and then go visit some taxidermist near you and see what there work looks like!
a good taxidermist that is ALWAYS consistent, is rather hard ti find IMO
and some time,s price has NOTHING to do with quality either!