Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
Not sure how to mount this on a plaque... >

Not sure how to mount this on a plaque...

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Not sure how to mount this on a plaque...

Old 06-11-2011, 06:43 AM
Spike

Default Not sure how to mount this on a plaque...

This is my first time trying my hand at taxidermy of any sort, and I got through the cleaning and bleaching and all that, but because this isn't a full skull (see pictures) and I'm not using a mounting block like would typically be used, I'm not sure how to attach this skull to a plaque properly. Is there any way to screw it on? Or some kind of putty to fill the skull cavity with that could then be screwed into?

Does anyone have some advice? I like the look of the skull, I don't want to dissemble it and use a mounting block.
Attached Thumbnails Not sure how to mount this on a plaque...-dsc_0255.jpg   Not sure how to mount this on a plaque...-dsc_0256.jpg  
Old 06-11-2011, 09:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

are ya gonna hang it, or desk mount type?
Old 06-11-2011, 09:10 AM
Spike

I plan on hanging it.
Old 06-11-2011, 09:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

so basically ya use reverse wedges. made of the same wood yer plaque will be made from. if yer real good with wood, ya make 2 half circle wedges that make a nice single circle when put to gether..then ya have to make the inside edge, this is where the bases of your skull will go when ya put the two halves together. it will take sum tweaking cause the skull isnt the same all the way around? it needs to be tight. it shouldnt wabble, so cut small.. make sure ya screw it all together from the back side.

if ya aint so good, ya make 4 er so, and strategically place them, 4 corners if you will, to hold the skull to the board (plaque).
Old 06-11-2011, 03:21 PM
Nontypical Buck