Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
 Not happy with my mount >

Not happy with my mount

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Not happy with my mount

Old 01-10-2009, 07:16 AM
Spike

Default Not happy with my mount

I'm no expert, but I know whats right from wrong, especially when it concerns me. Deer do not have pink nostrils, and their eyes don't look like this.

To me, it seems as if the form was to big for the hide, and as the taxidermist stretched it on the form, it pulled the nostrils almost inside out, and the same for the eyes. The nostrils should be closed more and the eyes shouldn't have so much gray around them.

And on top of this, the ears seemed to have been sliced when removing the hide from the actual deer, and you can actually see the form for the ears where the ear was sliced.
Old 01-10-2009, 08:36 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Not happy with my mount

How much did that mount run you?
Old 01-10-2009, 08:51 AM
Spike

$350 What do you guys see wrong with it? I'm going to call the guy and get him to fix it.
Old 01-10-2009, 08:54 AM
Typical Buck

the mount is dry now there isnt much he can do with it. the clays is dry around the eyes now. did you check out any of the guys work before you took it to him?
Old 01-10-2009, 09:10 AM

All i can say is i would demand my $350.00 back + the cost of a cape or he could order one and i would go to another taxidermy.and if that didn't work for him i would get pics of acceptable deer and take him to cival court.

this deer that i have posted was mounted in the 70's and your's does not look much better i would be upset too.

Old 01-10-2009, 09:13 AM
Nontypical Buck