HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Taxidermy (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/taxidermy-50/)
-   -   First Whitetail Mount..... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/taxidermy/202079-first-whitetail-mount.html)

zubba 08-13-2007 07:30 PM

First Whitetail Mount.....

Hey everyone, below is my first whitetail shoulder mount. I've been doing European mounts for a couple years and have wanted to try an actual shoulder mount. I researched it like crazy (www.taxidermy.net), rounded up the material and attached it. I was fairly happy with the result, although I now see many things I wish I would have done different. Although I haven't started it, I am confident my second will be better. I posted it on taxi.net but if any taxidermist on here see anything they can point out to help me, please do and don't fee bad doing it. Gotta get better somehow.

deerslayer64d 08-14-2007 04:25 AM

RE: First Whitetail Mount.....

looks good for your first !! I am not a taxidermist but there is something with the eyes . get you some good ref pics to study when you mount your next ,

KYDeerHunter03 08-14-2007 09:45 PM

I think that looks great for a first mount. I agree with deerslayer though. The eyes look like they are misssing something.

deerslayer64d 08-15-2007 06:47 PM

I think maybe its the paint in the tearduct area and thay should be more north south than east west .

rankbull 08-16-2007 02:01 PM

ORIGINAL: deerslayer64d

looks good for your first !! I am not a taxidermist but there is something with the eyes . get you some good ref pics to study when you mount your next ,
The same here it does look good but the deer looks like it has the flue:D

Freezersfull 08-17-2007 02:01 AM

lol..The flu:D

Actually it looks like it had 1 to many last night..:D