Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Target Archery
Archery with both eyes open >

Archery with both eyes open

Community
Target Archery Paper, foam or video screens, all things related to target archery. (Please use the IBO forum for IBO related posts)

Archery with both eyes open

Old 10-07-2010, 05:39 PM
Spike

Default Archery with both eyes open

I'm new to archery. I've been shooting alot lately. I started shooting with only one eye open but I recently tried keeping both eyes open. I find it more comfortable and seem to be more accurate. Anyone else shoot with both eyes open?
Old 10-09-2010, 10:15 PM
Typical Buck

Cool

Tim
This is the way you should have been taught, both eyes open enables you to see a wider field of view,in turn also enables you to see maybe a better buck close to the one your aiming at. It takes a bit getting used too at 1st ,but will pay off in the long run,it also takes the stress of off the one eye when zeroing in on a target.
Good luck and shoot straight.
rocky
Old 10-10-2010, 05:24 AM
Spike

Thanks for the reply Rocky. When I picked up the bow, I had no real teacher. My form is probably all jacked up but it seems to work for me.

I automatically aimed with just the strong eye (same as a firearm) but I guess I'm not the only one who prefers both eyes open!
Old 11-04-2010, 03:47 PM
Fork Horn

I always shoot with both eyes open when I shoot my bow and even a scoped gun, I'm much better that way. I was taught to shoot with one eye closed but dropped that habit a while ago. On a weird side note, I shoot a shotgun and open sights with one eye closed...can't explain that one
Old 11-11-2010, 05:24 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Life is never perfect

I'm a one eye jack, and have been for twenty years, since re-entering archery. If you use your dominant eye to aim, two eyes are perfect. But nothing is perfect. Some of use don't use our dominant eye, and could miss the broad side of a barn, if we used two eyes open.