Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

How Many Hours

Old 04-19-2005, 08:07 PM

Default How Many Hours

I am new to bird dog training. Right now my english pointer is about 5 mo. and is here, and heel broke. He is also not shy of the .22 pistol, is sight pointing birds in the yard(doves we have alot in my yard)and fetches frozen quail to hand. I was just curious about if I can put in about an 1 a day if he will probably be ready by the end of october for Quail Season. I know there are lots of factors, but what is your opinions. Thanks
Old 04-19-2005, 08:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How Many Hours

get the book.. "The 10 Minute Retriever" by John & Amy Dahl. The book is how to make an Obedient and enthusiatic gun dog in 10 minute's a day
Old 04-19-2005, 08:52 PM

Sounds like things are going well for you and living in Texas, birds shouldn't be a problem. Just remember, less is more and birds make the dog.

I'd continue the course, but forget about hour-workouts. Several 10-15 minute workouts a day are better than longer ones. Pups get bored easily and you could undo what's been accomplished. Keep things short and come October, things should be fine. Once in the field, you can work on things you wish to improve upon.

Best of luck.
Old 04-19-2005, 10:33 PM

Not too many birds, especially penned birds, your pup will start getting bored and will flag, etc. Best bet for now is to just let him run and if he bumps some birds, great.
Old 04-20-2005, 06:47 AM