Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Bird Dog Advice

Old 01-06-2004, 10:49 AM

Default Bird Dog Advice

You guys are probably tired of hearing from me, but I am really excited about bird hunting now that I have had some success. I want to get a pup to train, but I need advice. What kind of steps can I take before I get one to accomodate it. (kennel, quail coops, pigeon coops, etc.) Also what dog do you think are best for quail and grouse? I am fairly new with bird hunting and bird dogs, so any tips you can give me will be helpful.

Thanks
Old 01-06-2004, 08:28 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Bird Dog Advice

I can assure you that for quail and grouse, in your part of the country, the English Setter is the traditional bird dog. If you need to know where to get one from, let me know. I know a few guys back in KY that breed some of the finest bird dogs on the planet, bar none.
Old 01-07-2004, 05:35 AM

My advice would be to decide first, what type of dog do I want?
a.) Pointing Breed?
b.) Flushing Breed?

Once this has been decided, the games begin!

What breed of dog do I want?
a.) Pointing Breeds
1. English Pointer
2. English Setter
3. Brittany
4. German Shorthair
5. German Wirehair Pointer
6. Wiemeraner (spelling?)
7. Vizla
8. Pointing Lab
9. Etc., etc., etc.,
b.) Flushing Breeds
1. Labs
2. Chessies
3. Springers
4. Cockers
5. Etc., etc., etc.,

Once you have decided Type and narrowed the choice down to a couple of Breeds, I would suggest you get in touch with some nearby breed clubs. Attend AKC hunting tests, field trials, shows, shoot to retrieves etc. to see these breeds perform first hand. Talk to as many owners of these breeds as you can.