Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
1 year old Hound/Lab Mix >

1 year old Hound/Lab Mix

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

1 year old Hound/Lab Mix

Old 04-07-2017, 07:51 AM
Spike

Default 1 year old Hound/Lab Mix

I have a 1 year old Hound/Lab mix who I adopted a couple months ago. I was thinking of getting him into coon hunting because he has treed squirrels and cats in my neighborhood. He will sit there and howl until I physically pick him up and carry him away.

I am new to this so I don't know what I'm doing but I think it be a good for him. Can someone tell me if hes too old to learn or if him being a mix would hinder him in anyway?
Old 04-08-2017, 07:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

The only real difference between a pure breed and a mix is you kind of know what traits and talents to expect from a pure breed.

Some of the best dogs I've ever had were mixes. Instead of trying to mold and train the dog to my expectations. I watch carefully, spot their talents and proclivities, I tailor my hunts to them.

A few tips for a happy hunt, train your dog to the basics, sit on your left (or non gun side). Train them to lay down and stay, I mean really stay so you can walk away from them, return some time later and find them in the same spot. Train them to recall, that means come when you call, always. If you can call your dog off a Deer it is well trained, even some of the best screw that up on occasion.

I use a two tone whistle that is really loud. One side of the whistle is like a Policeman whistle, for my dogs it means stop, lay down in place and stay. The other side is a solid tone and means return to master and heal. Other than that I pretty much let them work to their strengths.