Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Too Young??

Old 12-24-2007, 12:15 PM

Default Too Young??

I have a 9 week old GSP female. She is well bred and both parents worked well in the field. I have been toying a little bit with the whole wing on a fishing pole deal but all she is wanting to do is pounce on it. No sign of even thinking about pointing. This is my first time around with training a dog so this may seem like an ignorant ? and I appologize ahead of time but if she too young to be even worrying bout any kind of hunting training? and is there any way to correct this pouncing issue? Thanks guys!
Old 12-24-2007, 01:14 PM

Default RE: Too Young??

at that age, yes, a abit too early to worry about any formal hunting training. As your pup gets a little older start on the OB training, and letting her explore and learn some on her own. If you put too much pressure on her too early, you may ruin her desire to work for you. There are more knowledgeable people here than me, so hopefully, you can get more in depth answers.
Old 12-24-2007, 01:33 PM
Typical Buck

Yes it's too early for formal training. But there is nothing wrong with exposing her to things. Take her in the woods and let her find out for herself that she can't catch birds.

The wing on the fishing pole doesn't tell you anything about the dog's pointing skills. It's only a good indication as to the style of point your dog will have.

Formal training doesn't start until the dog tells you to **** off!
Old 12-24-2007, 02:17 PM

Too soon, yes. We are making this a fun time. Puppy hood.
Wait another month before anymore "real"training starts.
Old 12-24-2007, 02:27 PM

So once formal training time starts...Any suggestions on where to start?
Old 12-24-2007, 09:31 PM

Basic OB first and foremost.

Then start whoa breaking.