Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Purina Pro Performance?

Old 10-19-2007, 09:48 AM

Default Purina Pro Performance?

I just got my lab back from the trainers and he has been feeding my dog purina pro performance for the past 4 months. I was just wondering what everyone thought of that dog food and if I should stick with it or go back to Natural Choice. The other question I had is that I have always fed my dogs twice a day and he got him on the routine of feeding once a day. Does that seem to be alright to just feed once a day. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks a lot.

Ryan Dallas
Old 10-19-2007, 12:53 PM
Spike

Default RE: Purina Pro Performance?

Thats what i have been feeding my dogs for last 6 months. Was feeding them natural choice. read an article in gun dog magazine about dog nutrition they recomended 30% protein 20% fat plus plus other stuff. pro plan performance was just about the only stuff i could find that had it all. The switch made a huge differance in energy level. there was also good reading about when to feed. there vet recomended once a day i think. Thats what i do just before bed time. but they also said to feed before hunting and since then i have heard on pheasents forever tv show not to feed before hunting.
Old 10-19-2007, 03:34 PM
JW
Super Moderator

I have used Pro Plan since ithas come out andhave not switched! Now I use Pro Plan Adult and only use the Performance if I am running the dogs hard. For normal routine kennel feeding I us eht Adult. If I hunt I do use the Performance.

I am very pleased withe food - dog's coats have looked the best ever and getting only a half hot dog back when I feed several hot dog's worth of food just tells me they are digesting it naturally.