Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Tons of questions...

Old 12-09-2006, 05:36 PM

Default Tons of questions...

Hopefully some of you will bear with me and give me some advice. Heres my situation I already own a 1 yr oldmaleweim that is primarly just a house dog cause he is basically scared of his own shadow. I'm looking to get a GSP, and wondering if anyone else has a house dog and a hunting/house dog? Also since my weim is a male,what sex do I get?And does this interfer with the training of your hunting dog?

So on to the next questions...

Does anyone know of a reputable breeder in TX?
I am just getting into bird hunting andalso wondering about training? It almost seems to be a overwelming process. Should you train your hunting dog the basic obediencefirst before moving on to the hunting part of training?

Well here is just a start of the many questions to come, I hope I haven't bombarded yall with too many questions. Thanks for any help that can be given.
John
Old 12-09-2006, 05:52 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Tons of questions...

I have no doubt in my mind that a dog that spends more time with you is easier to train. Keep 'em in the house and take 'em with you everywhere!!!!!!!

For GSPs (if you must ), contact Charlie Rose in Seymour. His dogs are top-notch!

http://www.wildrosegermanshorthairs.com/
Old 12-09-2006, 09:07 PM

gsp is a great choice. Mine stays in the house with us but to be honest can be a bit of a handful; tons of energy. I live in NC but got mine from Iowa because of the range that I wanted out of the dog. Key with just about any of the pointing breeds in the house is to have a big back yard that they can run all day in and then come in at night. good luck
Old 12-09-2006, 10:38 PM

Wildrose Kennels has something to offer if you like those types of dogs, but his dogs are not what I would consider the best representative of a versatile shorthair....