Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Sporting Dogs
 How I enforced training with a shock collar >

How I enforced training with a shock collar

Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

How I enforced training with a shock collar

Old 01-18-2006, 12:06 PM

Default How I enforced training with a shock collar

Hi everyone. I have noticed some talk here lately about using shock collars. Mite was talking about the slow introduction of the collar, which is good. I am no expert, but for some reason, I have had very good success with the "come" command when using collar reinforcement. The problem for me always seemed to be that my dogs would come great while on a long leash, but when you cut them lose, it was a different story. I think I've fixed that for good. Here are some things I've learned; hopefully someone might be helped by this.

First let me give a disclaimer. This is just the way I have used the collar mixed with my own opinions. Every dog and dog handler is different and you've got to decide what is best for your situation. That may mean you never use a collar. It also may mean you wait until certain age and maturity levels to introduce the collar. Some dogs should probably be a year old before having a collar used on them. My male was 6 months and my female was probably about the same, but they were introduced to the collar at different paces. It was up to me to determine what was best for each dog. Again, these are just some opinions intended to offer some help if you have had some trouble. You might even just find something in this post to mix in with your own training. I also suggest only using the collar for one command at a time.

My first rule is that the shock collar is for reinforcement only, meaning if I use it to enforce a command, the dog needs to know the command first (except for breaking them off trashy game).