Community
Specific Turkey Tips and Tactics How to's from cooking turkeys to conditioning calls, this forum holds it all.

Help With Optics, please

Old 02-18-2019, 03:09 PM
Spike

Default Help With Optics, please

First post. I actually joined so I could ask you guys this question.
I'm new to turkey hunting, but not to hunting. I've gotten to a time in my life where I'm able to get in the field a couple hundred times a year. Wasn't always the case.
I didn't care for my Gold 10, or my A400 20 gauge as turkey guns.
Recently purchased a Beretta 1310 competition model. Got a really great price on it. I've ordered an optima turkey choke, an Urbino pistol grip stock for it, and a waterfowl sling.

Optics are next!
I want to mount a Weaver Kaspa shotgun scope, and a Burris fast fire red dot. I'm having trouble figuring out how exactly to do this. I've seen a "stacked" arrangement (dot mounted on top of scope), and a configuration where the red dot is at a 45 degree angle to a scope.
Any thoughts on the preferred method? Also, any idea as to what mounting hardware I would need? And, where to get it.
I truly appreciate any help.

Good hunting.
Old 02-19-2019, 02:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome. Are you actually wanting to mount both the scope and the red dot on the same gun? Is there some kind of advantage to having both? Most dedicated turkey guns have one or the other if your not just using your bead.
Ray
Old 02-20-2019, 06:06 AM
Nontypical Buck