HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Specific Turkey Tips and Tactics (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/specific-turkey-tips-tactics-107/)
-   -   locating birds "my style" (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/specific-turkey-tips-tactics/360226-locating-birds-my-style.html)

bfran134 03-13-2012 09:39 AM

locating birds "my style"

I live on a 70 acre farm and I have been hunting bird's for the last 9 years. A tip I use to locate birds! Throw away the crow call and the owl hoot!!! Go buy an AIR HORN and give it a hoot!!! Ive located so many birds and killed some big Pa long beards. Last year was 11 1/4 in beard with 1" 1/2 spurs. Once i locate the birds I slide in within a 100 yds and set up Mr. B mobile that i replaced with a jake fan and snipped the beard down to about 2 inches. i set 2 hens out with him and the birds just cant resist!!! Good luck to all you turkey hunters Hope this tip works just as well as it does for me!!! gobble gobble gobble!!!!

ShawnD 03-24-2012 07:26 AM

I don't know if I'll do the air horn idea, but the decoy setup wounds pretty killer. Good luck on your property and following seasons.

UncleNorby 04-23-2012 07:36 AM

I find that a crow call works well, but you really have to hammer at it several times. Just blowing the call to sound like a crow won't often work.

I'd imagine the air horn would work. Something to keep in mind, especially when hunting new areas that get some hunting pressure. A new sound can work when other common locators won't.

RockyMtnGobblers 02-08-2013 08:37 AM

I may try it thanks for the tip, about any loud nois will do the trick. I have walked right by birds using the owl call only to walk by again using a more shrill call to get a responce.

springspur 02-10-2013 04:25 PM

locator calls

a buddy of mine told me that a crow call wrong and too loud will get better results cuz it bugs the gobbler and he just has to say something.

RIStrutStopper 02-13-2013 11:07 AM