Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > South
 northern florida info? >

northern florida info?

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

northern florida info?

Old 04-02-2004, 08:39 AM

Default northern florida info?

My wife and I are looking to moving to northern fla. from Jan 1 to Mar.30 next year,we will both be retireing this year and were looking to rent a small house or apartment on a short term lease 90 day.Would like it near good bassfishing water and preferably small town,no metro areas..I'am just looking for general info.like good areas ,rental prices,fishing and weather info.We live in West Virginia and we got almost 6in of snow last night...how's that for spring...thanks
Old 04-02-2004, 03:23 PM

Default RE: northern florida info?

Pensacola.

I'm not sure about bass fishing, I'm not a expert on fishing at all, but Pensacola is a ocean/bay area, a quite little town with a nice center, and the houses around it are old victorian. I'm not sure how the weather is up there, in Tallahassee it can drop to the 30's in the middle of winter, but that's the worst. There is a hotel amoung the old victorian houses that I'm almost positive rents out houses to people-how long I am not sure.
Lots of interesting shops and resturants that sounds right for what you're looking for.
Part of it is where you are in Pensacola, though, because one part is getting more developed that others.
Old 04-02-2004, 04:15 PM
Boone & Crockett

Not sure what part of north Florida you are looking at, but in the panhandle area between Pensacola and Tallahassee there are a number of small fairly quiet towns like DeFuniak Springs, Crestview, Chipley, Bonifay and Quincy that are inland from the beach and are very affordable to live in. Last week in the DeFuniak Springs paper there was a picture of a bass close to 15 pounds a guy caught. This size bass is not all that uncommon. A lot of public freshwater lakes in the area and plenty of saltwater close by.