New hunter in Charlotte

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

New hunter in Charlotte

Old 11-02-2011, 07:26 AM
Spike

Default New hunter in Charlotte

Hello everyone,

I'm 28 years old and I've never hunted before. My father wasn't into it and I simply never learned. Now that I have a son of my own (3 years old), I want to be able to do this kind of thing with him when he gets a little older. While I'm new to hunting I'm not new to guns, and I'm a decent shot, but it's the actual hunting part that is holding me up.

So my question is, how should I go about learning to hunt?

I have no idea exactly where to hunt in NC. If it's public land, I assume they don't provide stands for you to sit in, so I guess you have to stalk them?

I've never field dressed an animal, but want to be able to go from the kill to the freezer on my own.

Any help would be great. Thanks!
Old 11-02-2011, 07:30 AM
Spike

Should have added, right now I'm looking at deer, duck, turkey and hog. Probably in that order.
Old 11-02-2011, 08:08 AM
Typical Buck

Welcome,
Never too late to start hunting,
I started about the same. Age and without a mentor also.
First start with your hunter ed certs,
Lots of info at the courses,
You don't need the certs to go out and scout, but would avoid doing so during deer season.
Don't want to interfere with other hunters until. You learn your way around.
Once you have your certs and ready to hunt, can start with small game, and work up to big game, small game is generally abundant and have long seasons,

feel free to psot any specific questions, generally easier to answer specific questions than general questions
Old 11-05-2011, 10:33 AM
Fork Horn

I live in charlotte also, Ill contact you soon. Like stated above NC does require a hunter safety course. Little late for this season to get on board with that unless youve had a licence before/ or one from another state that transfers. Have you looked into archery?
Old 11-06-2011, 12:41 PM