Hunting the Wichita Mountains, I actually got drawn for elk

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

Hunting the Wichita Mountains, I actually got drawn for elk

Old 07-19-2007, 10:08 AM
Typical Buck

Default Hunting the Wichita Mountains, I actually got drawn for elk

Hey guys,

I just looked at the results for the draw hunts herre in Oklahoma. I got pulled for a cow elk out at the Wichita Mountains Dec 4-6. I have never hunted for elk and I know I have alot to learn before dec.
Have any of you guys hunted the Wichita Mountains before? If so What can I expect and what do I need to plan for.

Its funny my step dad has put in for all of the oklahoma draw hunts for quite a while now with no luck. This is my first year applying and I actually get drawn. Its my lucky day

Thanks for any info
Old 07-19-2007, 11:07 AM
Spike

Default RE: Hunting the Wichita Mountains, I actually got drawn for elk

I also drew out for the Wichita Mountains and I got a bull tag.
I grew up not far from there and there are lots of Elk plus Buffalo, hogs, deer and Longhorns.
They run pretty close to %100 on cows and I think about %90 on Bulls.
I will be there Dec 4-6 as well.
Old 07-19-2007, 12:03 PM
Typical Buck

Congrats to you on getting drawn. I cant wait for the hunt, it will be a blast. I looked at the results from last year and there is a high sucess rate. Alot higher than I though it would be. Hopefully when we get out packets they will include some more info as far as huntging locations and such. Have you talked with anyone about how the hunts are conducted?

Where did you grow up at? My wife and I grew up in Lawton and Ive always dreamed of hunting elk out there.
Old 07-19-2007, 12:16 PM
Spike

A friend of mine is a wildlife biologist for the state and he works the hunts on the refuge every year.
I sent you a IM.
It will be great and I can get you some info. Email me @
[email protected]
Old 07-19-2007, 03:49 PM
Fork Horn