Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

.223 good varmint caliber?

Old 01-23-2005, 10:43 PM

Default .223 good varmint caliber?

Hey guys, I have been considering buying a rifle for varmint hunting in the .223 caliber for a long time. I like that the ammo is especially cheap and fast. I know I want speed and practicality; are there any other calibers that fit this description? I am a college student (money matters) and I have been looking on WalMart.com at some of the single shots...they seem the cheapest. I saw a Braztech single shot for 157.00, a NEF for 187.00, and an H&R for 230.00. I was wondering if anyone had a Braztech and what they thought about that brand. Are Braztech's as good as the others? I am really interested in getting into predator hunting and any information at all would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 01-24-2005, 04:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: .223 good varmint caliber?

Any rifle is a good varmint gun, depending on if you are looking on saving the pelts? Don't know much abotu any of those brands of guns other than H&R. I had been looking at one of there shotguns myself and it looked to be an awesome gun! Sorry bout the others. - Buckhunter14
Old 01-24-2005, 07:46 AM

.223 is an excellent varment round, I dont know about those firearms as I am not a big single shot guy. I would suggest a good quality bolt gun but that is not to say a single cant do it just as good, I simply dont know. I would suggest that when you buy a scope to invest a good chunk of change on a very good piece of glass. Often you get what you pay for in optics. Another good calibers to look at is a 22-250.
Old 01-24-2005, 09:35 AM
Giant Nontypical

Howdy and welcome to the forums.