Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Glad to join

Old 11-09-2015, 07:27 PM
Spike

Default Glad to join

Hey guys decided to join since I'm fairly new to hunting (2 years) and figured I pick up some tips and maybe share some. Went out today only bagged one. But maybe it'll add to something I get Wednesday. Used a Marlin 25n and blazer 40grain hollowpoints. What do you guys prefer; walking around or sitting against a tree? I find a downed tree and sit for ~1/2 hr and if nothing move somewhere else. Glad to be here guys.
Old 11-10-2015, 02:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Talking

I like to use a 22 sit for a while then move about 100 yards and sit some more if need be.

Al
Old 11-10-2015, 02:38 AM
Super Moderator

Burninhot, glad to have you on the site. Welcome. We have a squirrel contest going on at the top of the page if you'd like to be involved your more than welcome. I like to still hunt. Walk very slowly and quietly an find them before they find you. I mainly do this to hone my deer hunting skills. Ill sit when I find a nice spot though too.
-Jake
Old 11-10-2015, 08:53 AM
Fork Horn

I'm a sitter. Around here the woods are so thick with briers it's hard to walk around quietly.
Old 11-11-2015, 05:40 PM
Super Moderator

That is a .22 WMR right?
It is one of the older .22 magnums.
I believe WMR stands for Winchester Magnum Rimfire
I have one, they are a sweet rifle.

Take low power Binoculars with you, like 6x30 or 7x35
You won't believe the amount of squirrels you will find in the trees looking through a set.
I have timed it, and they will start moving between 7 & 15 minutes.
I remember that I wasn't seeing many squirrels, so I took my 6x30 binoculars.
I started seeing squirrels, I had walked away from.
They will flatten out on the trunk, or ball up in a ball in the tree limb fork.
I couldn't hardly believe how many squirrels I spotted.