HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   Rabbit hunting tricks? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/388920-rabbit-hunting-tricks.html)

dirthawker88 01-11-2014 04:18 PM

Rabbit hunting tricks?

Hey, guys I'm relatively new to rabbit hunting and just wanted to ask for some advice, and pointers. I'm struggling to find many good rabbit fields, due to the county I live in is over run with coyotes. So I have to head to the outskirts of town but fields are few and far between. I have a couple proven rabbit fields but some how the little suckers evade me. I'm able to track them, look for droppings, and signs of them due to snow so I know they are there but I am unable to slip one. I spend hours in the field beating every piece of brush large enough to hold a rabbit, poking in holes, and doing whatever I can but can't seem to get one. Right now its, wet, cold (30), and the ground has a foot of snow cover. What are the best conditions to hunt rabbits? The best time of day? is there any time you mine as well stay home? Any old timers secrets? I have about 3 fields the were over run with rabbits I was tripping over them and the last 2 weeks they have been no were to be seen. I see tracks but haven't seen a rabbit. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for your time. Michael Cogar. I also live in Southern WI if that matters, I've been told cottontail habits very on geographical locations.

Nomercy448 01-12-2014 07:40 AM

How fast are you moving through the field? If you're tearing apart that much and making too much noise, you won't be seeing any bunnies, they'll scatter to the four winds. With snow cover, they know they don't have as much concealment as they might have in the grass, so they'll scatter farther.