Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

New to hunting... Need help

Old 08-29-2013, 07:30 PM
Spike

Default New to hunting... Need help

So I'm new to hunting And have been reading a lot of threads squirrel hunting. I just have a few questions that Hopefully someone can answer.
1) I own a 12 gauge is that overkill? Should I purchase a 22?
2) What is the best kind of optics for a 22 specifically for squirrel hunting?
3) Is cammo necessary for midseason Illinois squirrel hunting?
4) Are calls necessary, do they help? For $12 at bass pro I'm willing to try.... What about cutter calls?

Just want to say thank you to whoever can help me greatly appreciate the help
Old 08-29-2013, 08:40 PM
Spike

It depends on how you like to hunt Squirrels as to which gun is better, I like using a shotgun and walking along slowly listening and watching for Squirrels. There is no wrong way as long as you are having fun.
Old 08-30-2013, 04:23 AM
Spike

Thanks,I really appreciate it
Old 08-30-2013, 06:36 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Jjmj
If you go with a 2 3/4 #6 or #5 shot, you'll be just fine. However, if you're planning on eating them, and don't want to pull shot out, then go with the .22lr and aim for the head. Just keep in mind that ammo is pretty scarce right now for the .22 (in my area anyway).

Specifically for squirrel hunting? Not sure.

But I have a Barska plinker .22 scope that I've been really happy with, found it at Walmart for 30 bucks.

You really don't have to spend a fortune on a .22 scope, especially if it'll hold zero and you're just popping squirrels.

Not where I hunt (SD). Just walk into the woods, be quiet and look up.

4) Are calls necessary, do they help? For $12 at bass pro I'm willing to try.... What about cutter calls?
Never called a squirrel... but some seem to have knowledge of these calls.
Old 08-30-2013, 06:51 AM
Spike