Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Rabbit hunting without dogs

Old 01-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Spike

Default Rabbit hunting without dogs

It seems like every book or article on rabbit hunting is for hunting with dogs. Does anyone have any good sources of info for rabbit hunting without dogs? I'm a newbie at hunting these little puff balls so any info is appreciated.
Old 01-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Spike

You're going to need to be a quick shot, that's for sure. Try to go after rabbits in open areas if you can, since they will be easier to follow. You want to be walking around and kicking whatever could make the rabbit flush. Might also want to bring along a friend, as rabbits, like some animals, are notable for doubling back.

Sources:
http://voices.yahoo.com/techniques-t...og-689332.html
http://www.outdoorlife.com/blogs/hun...s-without-dogs
Old 01-08-2013, 04:09 PM
Fork Horn

Ive never had any luck going solo. I always take a friend and take turns kicking them up, one guys the "spooker" and the other one the shooter.
Old 01-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Fork Horn

I hunted them with a 22 when there is fresh snow on the ground. Tracked them then caught them sitting. Just hunt slow.
Old 01-09-2013, 07:06 AM
Spike

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...ID=&subcatID=0
Old 01-09-2013, 07:23 AM
Banned

i bow hunt rabbits solo,
easier in light snow where you can easily see tracks,
i sometimes follow the tracks, and sometimes sit and wait by the tracks for them to return,
they generally use the same paths, and dont venture far from their bunny hole.

when there isnt snow, i sometimes look for bunny trails in the brush/grasses, such trails can be other critters trails but you take your chances and hope its a bunny trail, and scout around the trail.
bunny populations tend to go up and down fairly quickly,
as it grows the predators generally move in,