Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Small Game, Predator and Trapping
New to Trapping. Need info on general skills. >

New to Trapping. Need info on general skills.

Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

New to Trapping. Need info on general skills.

Old 11-13-2012, 03:19 PM
Spike

Default New to Trapping. Need info on general skills.

Hello, i am new to trapping, id like to try to get some fox and coyote. I have 10 older traps, i believe they are Victor #1 1/2. Will these be good for coyote? Do you have to have a tag with your name on the trap? I also see some people using screen and wax paper on the pan. is this just so dirt dosent get under the pan? I can use some info on the basic guidelines to trapping. Thank you for your time.
Old 11-13-2012, 06:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

depends on where you are...where are you?
Old 11-13-2012, 10:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Laws vary from state to state. Yotes make sure the trap is WELL anchored.

Good luck.
Old 11-14-2012, 01:39 AM
Spike

I live in pa.
Old 11-15-2012, 04:15 PM
Spike

If in illinois yes to tags and a 11/2 is ok to use but a bigger trap will increase chance of catch. wax paper is ok u also can use aluminum foil. I use peat moss or sifted dry dirt to cover trap. u can get the dirt out of old barn or building (dirt not wet wont freeze) When placing trap in front of hole that u have dug place trap 9 to 12 inches back from hole a yote has a long neck to look in hole. I use along chain on trap so he cant pull up on it. I use muskrat for lure and yote urine. Hope this helps
Old 11-15-2012, 07:50 PM
Giant Nontypical

Hope this helps;

http://www.trapperman.com/

http://www.minntrapprod.com/index.php

http://www.bear-tracker.com/

Good luck...................Enjoy it !
Old 11-17-2012, 01:08 AM
Spike