HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   Is shooting cats wrong? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/365349-shooting-cats-wrong.html)

thomasmgp 06-02-2012 01:46 PM

Is shooting cats wrong?

I am lucky to have wild quail making a comeback on my farm. But recently I have seen lots of feathers and bones of quail scattered around my house near the woods where I hear them. Sometimes even partially eaten ones where I guess I scared off whatever was snacking when I drove up or went outside. Also I have been seeing cats in the same area. I asked my Dad what to do and he said take em out.

So I started shooting every cat I see with my .22. Is that wrong? Im sorry but I believe in protecting my wildlife at all costs as long as Im not doing anything illegal. I dont care if its a coyote or a house cat. If its endangering my wildlife Im gonna endanger it.

ihookem1 06-02-2012 03:05 PM

No it's not wrong. It is a shame though that owners can't take care of their pets. I have shot lots of coons for much the same reason, and when I grow sweet corn. I have trapped several cats the last 5 years and see a small boost in rabbits and pheasants on my little 4 acre parcel. I even got a cat dragging a mature rabbit last year on the trail cam. I also have chickens so I don't need cats around.

JerryK 06-02-2012 03:12 PM

Well, here in MO the wildlife code says nothing about cats, but it does mention that it is illegal to shoot dogs. If your going to shoot at dogs too, best to check your wildlife code first.

My cats keep the mouse, rat, chipmunk and squirrel population down. They are kind enough to bring them to the front door and leave them as gifts and seem to want praise for their good deeds. The dog gets them and eats them. The dog is a real mole getter, however.

Happy hunting!