Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Small Game, Predator and Trapping
New hunter...need some "practice" game >

New hunter...need some "practice" game

Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

New hunter...need some "practice" game

Old 02-04-2012, 07:30 AM
Spike

Default New hunter...need some "practice" game

Hey everyone I'm a new hunter. Very very new, lol. I learned things like what a bolt action is and what quartering away means this year. I shot my first rifle. I'm a newb, lol. I've been learning, observing, and spending as much time in the field as I can. I've always been an outdoorsy gal, and I can tell you which fly to use in which part of the river at what time of the year, but I'm definitely inexperienced in hunting. That said, I took my first deer this year as well as some upland game birds. I'm pretty well hooked, and I constantly have the itch to be out romping around in the hills.

I'm considering purchasing a .22 or possibly a .223 and doing some small game hunting. Rabbits and squirrels are what I have in mind, and possibly coyotes. I want to improve my marksmanship, game spotting eye, we could definitely stand to have a few less bunnies in the world, and quite frankly, I just want an excuse to play outside, lol. A lot of you guys grew up hunting squirrels and moved onto bigger game. I missed that step in hunter development, lol. I have no qualms with skinning/cleaning/eating whatever I hunt, including squirrels and rabbits.