Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

cant find squirrels for nothing >.<

Old 01-06-2012, 03:46 AM
Spike

Default cant find squirrels for nothing >.<

As title says.
Im very new to hunting and wanted to cut my teeth with squirrels.
Problem is, i cant ever find a single squirrel where i hunt.
i hunt on public land ( Francis Marion Forest in SC ) and ive heard they have an enormous squirrel population there so it has to be the locations im picking.
Im waiting 30 mins in spots but i dont ever see any.
I dont know if it helps but most of the trees in the forest look like file attached.
I have been told they eat pine cones so this shouldnt be a problem, as i cant find acorn trees ANYWHERE in the forest.
What could i be doing wrong?
Attached Thumbnails cant find squirrels for nothing &gt;.&lt;-pine_tree-11924.jpg  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

They will eat most any nuts they can find.Are you watching around their nests?
Old 01-06-2012, 06:31 AM
Spike

yea i usually sit by the nests
Old 01-06-2012, 11:45 AM
Super Moderator

If you're seeing nest there has to be squirrels there. I don't typically sit much, I still hunt. Slowly move, and I mean SLOWLY through the areas where you know squirrels are at. I usually will see them moving in front of me, and then plan my moves from there to get a shot on them. If you're sitting a half hour should be enough time for them to come out. Are you hunting during active times of the day? I don't know what time that'd be down there but here in Ohio the best time right now is from eleven till three.
-Jake
Old 01-06-2012, 12:11 PM
Spike