Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

backyard air gunners?

Old 05-09-2008, 11:10 PM
Typical Buck

Default backyard air gunners?

who on these forums is a backyard air gunner? post a reply and be proud. I'm just starting out. read some reviews and i'll probably pick up a Crosman quest 1000x combo. seems like a decent value gun to shoot under 40yds with. anyone have a good bait for starling/english sparrow? i'm goiing to re-use an old milk jug or two to make a feeder(s)
Old 05-10-2008, 11:31 AM

Default RE: backyard air gunners?

Yep i am i just got a airgun about 1 month ago and i already got 4 squirrels and a bunch of birds. Crossman generally has pretty gun airguns for the money. I wouldnt spend over 200 for a airgun.
Old 05-10-2008, 04:09 PM

Blow guns are the way to go for back yard safaris.
Old 05-10-2008, 07:28 PM
Super Moderator

ORIGINAL: wyotimberghost

Blow guns are the way to go for back yard safaris.
A sling shot is more sporting.
Plus the ammo is all over the ground for free

JMHO
Old 05-10-2008, 10:29 PM
Typical Buck

one thing i've really noticed as a trend in break bbl air rifles is all of the scopes or scope mounts are terrible and should be thrown away. any good suggestions for a good scope? i'll be getting the Quest for ~$100 so maybe a $50 dollar (give or take) scope? i've heard something about bushnell making a decent 3-9x. are there any specific tips for mounting a scope on a springer? i know i should use blue threadlocker on all the hardware but is there anything else?