HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   Want to start coyote hunting and had a ? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/226755-want-start-coyote-hunting-had.html)

buckeyehntr5 01-11-2008 02:08 PM

Want to start coyote hunting and had a ?

I'm new to this predator hunting and want to pick up a good but cheap rifle to start out with. Couple of my buddies have New England Firearms sigle shot .223's and .204. Would this be a good gun to start off with? What's the $ usually on these two guns?
Thanks for the help!

tf 01-11-2008 03:24 PM

RE: Want to start coyote hunting and had a ?

yes. i have used mine for years, (in .223), i love it, put a decent scope and you can have a blast. price with good scope and rifle would be less than $300. probably mid $200's depending on scope.

johnny2 01-11-2008 03:39 PM

They are a decent rifle for the money..Only problem I have heard of is that some times they fail to fire..But maybe that was just a bad year..One guy had a 223 cal and his miss fired terrible..It was sent back and appears to be ok now..I have no idea what the problem was with it...

BlackLab 01-11-2008 04:22 PM

For the $ you can't go wrong (imo) and with a goodscope your in biz

DOGCALLER 01-11-2008 05:17 PM

I have four of these single shot models in 204,223,243,and 17hmr.I have never had a misfire,i reload my own bullets for the centerfires and have excellent accuracy out of these guns.In my opinion if you are buying the gun strictly for yotes i would definetly go with the 204 it is a excellent caliber for yotes!!!!

jboynjazz 01-13-2008 12:34 PM