Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Do coyotes really kill calves?

Old 08-03-2007, 12:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Do coyotes really kill calves?

Ill be the first then for ya. Ive seen 14 in a line running away when I snared the alpha male.In the next 10 days I killed 20 yotes in a single back yard.Call B.S. on it if ya want but I killed 150 in 30 days. Ive seen 2 packs 15 members or more in 10 years, but then again thats what I do for a living.
ORIGINAL: HEAD0001

"Packs of Coyotes". I have been around coyote's and cattle for 48 years. I have never seen more than 3 adult coyote's together in my life. We have never lost a calf to a coyote. Will they eat a dead animal? Yes. Are they oportunistic? Yes. Do they kill cattle? Maybe if the cattle are sick or injured, but I believe it is a rare occurence when one kills a healthy cow.

I have been reading about, hunting, and talking to coyote hunter's all my life. I have never heard the first hunter tell me he ran into a pack of adult coyote's. Tom.
Old 08-04-2007, 09:07 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Do coyotes really kill calves?

Here in OK most of the calves takenby coyotes are probably killed as they are being born.Sometimes abunch of coyoteswill attack thecow as she is calving. Saw that happen twice.As for coyotes not running in groups, i have seen as many as nine running together at one time.
Old 03-03-2017, 10:00 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by IADeerHunter16
I've heard neighbors claim that coyotes have killed their calves, but I'd say what really happened was they don't check them very often and had one die naturally and coyotes did what was natural for a scavenger and ate it.
Coyotes arent very big. Coyotes are scavangers. And like with a lot of things, lazy ranchers and farmers want to blame everyone else but themselves for incompetence and laziness.