HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   Suitcast/cage live beaver trap help (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/133670-suitcast-cage-live-beaver-trap-help.html)

coolbrze0 02-20-2006 04:55 AM

Suitcast/cage live beaver trap help

Any tips/ideas for setting a cage/suitcase style live beaver trap? Are there any tricks to setting them? Thanks in advance!

Coastie 02-20-2006 06:43 PM

RE: Suitcast/cage live beaver trap help

I have no experience with them (live traps)since live trapping Beaver suggests you have another use for them someplace other than where theyare now located. Finding a suitable place to relocate them is a major undertaking in most states here in the east since they are really a nuisance. Make sure it is even legal to do so before attempting to try it since if it is not, the fines could be pretty stiff at several levels. If you must use a live trap, I would suggest placing it near a feeding site with possibly a few small limbs of the favored trees available in the area, Poplar, Willow, etc. possibly even a piece of Apple used as bait. Place it on land, on or near a trail from the water to the feeding site, cover lightly with grasses or leaves and dirt. These trails are usually easy to locate due to the extensive usage they get. As a last resort, place the trap in shallow water close to shore in an approach to a burrow to avoid drowning the rascal once you get it in the trap.