HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Small Game, Predator and Trapping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping-12/)
-   -   New to trapping and want to get started (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/small-game-predator-trapping/131229-new-trapping-want-get-started.html)

Little Bow Man 1 01-31-2006 07:43 PM

New to trapping and want to get started

I am new to trapping and want to get started. I mostly want
to trap beaver, foxes, racoons, and coyotes. What do I need and
how much is it to get started and where I can get the stuff at a
local hunting store or what.

Wild Outdoorsman 02-01-2006 03:54 AM

RE: New to trapping and want to get started

First get the Magazine Fur-Fish-game. This magazine would help you tremendously. It is cheap about $15 for a year. Check out these.
www.furtakersofamerica.com
www.furtakersofamerica.com

Welcome to the world of trapping. It is rewarding, super fun, alot of work, and it will make you a better hunter for sure. It helps all wildlife including it's own species.

Criggster 02-01-2006 07:50 AM

I remember a thread on here about a similar subject awhile back. Someone posted a link to a website that had a starter kit, but I can't remember the web site. Some of these supplies can be homemade, or you may have them already. Anyway, here is a list of basic supplies for starters:
1 small shovel or big trowel
1 pair of rubber gloves (preferrably long enough to cover lower arm)
1 dirt sifter (can be homemade)
1 pair of rubber boots
1 pack or bucket for carrying supplies
1 bottle of lure for coons, foxes, coyotes, etc
1 hammer
1 sharp knife
1 .22 cal pistol orrifle
Pan covers (wax paper)
Trap wax
Trap Dye (or use walnut hulls)
Trap Stakes (or make them yourself)