Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Scopes and Sights
Scope recommendations >

Scope recommendations

Community
Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Scope recommendations

Old 12-26-2013, 10:44 AM
Typical Buck

Default Scope recommendations

Wanting to buy a new scope for my .300WM so that I can move the current scope on to my .243 for coyote hunting. I have a Nikon Buckmaster and have had it for over ten years on a few different guns and absolutely love it. However I am toying with the idea of buying a Leupold. I don't want to spend more than 350-400. I haven't looked through a leupold and was wondering if it worth buying or if I should just purchase a nikon buckmaster or monarch. I just want a standard 3X9 or a 4X12.
Old 12-26-2013, 01:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have a couple of Buckmasters and quite a few Leupold scopes. One of my Buckmasters failed last year and had to be replaced by Nikon, but out of all of the years and all of the scopes I have not had a Leupold fail yet. I think the new model VX2 is a step up from the Buckmasters and a 4x12 can be had for somewhere around $400.

If you can add more to the budget (not always possible!) the 3.5x10 VX3 runs somewhere around $480 and it is a great scope. That is the scope that currently sits on top of my .300 WM elk rifle.

Surely some of our "optics experts" (a few are on my Ignore list) will chime in soon to recommend their favorite brands in place of the two that you inquired about. There are many good choices, but you will not regret buying the Leupold.
Old 12-26-2013, 04:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Leupold VX3 great scope, your gun is only as good as the glass you have on it
Old 12-26-2013, 08:47 PM
Nontypical Buck