Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

Vortex Scopes

Old 10-28-2013, 02:35 AM
Typical Buck

Default Vortex Scopes

I've been a Leupy, Nikon, Zeiss Conquest guy for years. I believe the $300 - $600 range for scopes is where I find the most value. Good clear glass, accurate adjustments, plenty bright, lots of reticle choices. When I buy a scope, it goes on a rifle and stays there until I have issues. With optics I like to "buy it once" knowing that if I have issues now or years down the road it'll be covered. Over the past couple of years, I keep hearing about Vortex but have kept away mainly due to longevity. Can some of you guys give me real world info on the Vortex line? How does their comparable lines stack up to VX2 and 3, Monarch and Conquest? What about the warranty and customer service?
Old 10-28-2013, 07:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have zero first and experience with the Vortex line, however one of my hunting buddies put a high end Vortex on his Contender. He loves the scope.

I can give an opinion on the Conquest, Leupold Vari-X III and Monarch. My preference is in that order with the Monarch far behind .... the MSRP of the Monarch in the vintage that I had just did not match up with my experience. Lw lihgt performance was disappointing.

To be fair both the 2- Vari X-III's and 2-Monarch's were bought several years back. The Monarch's may be much better now.

I am a big fan of the Conquest as far as value.
Old 10-29-2013, 06:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have a Vortex Viper 2-7X and love it. It is a solid scope. I have heard from others that customer service is first rate, but I have never had an issue with mine to find out. I don't know about the Monarch and the Conquest seems to be a solid scope. I have an old Leupy Vari-X III 4.5-14X 40 mm that I bought nearly twenty years ago that is still giving me good service. Again, no issue, so I have never had to test the customer service.
Old 10-29-2013, 06:46 PM
Giant Nontypical