Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 do i have to resize brand new brass >

do i have to resize brand new brass

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

do i have to resize brand new brass

Old 12-30-2004, 09:57 AM
  #11  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 6,471
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

neck size the case and set the shoulder back .001(thousands) should do it. I use a stoney point case gauge when doing this.
oldelkhunter is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 10:09 AM
  #12  
jp4
Spike
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshkosh WI.
Posts: 19
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

New brass HAS to be chamfered, the same as once fired brass. Otherwise the bullet will be damaged, AND the neck can be knocked crooked by excessive force used to get by the square mouth of the case. Chamfering out of round case necks, causes excess chamfering in one spot and none on another, resulting in the same bullet damage/ excessive force required.

I simply run each case fully into the FL sizer. Seldom do I need any lube, the cases are at SAMMI minimum so they don't really contact the die anyway. This rounds out the mouth of the case so you get a uniform chamfer to ease the bullet into the case.
jp4 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:37 PM
  #13  
Nontypical Buck
 
driftrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coralville, IA. USA
Posts: 3,802
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

Up until I recently I've always procured rifle brass by firing factory Winchester ammo. This, of course, fireforms the brass to the chamber in question, and from there I just neck size it.

But recently I did buy a lot of new unprimed Remington 7mm STW brass, and found that they did need to be sized for no other reason than the necks were anything but round (apparently new brass isn't handled with any type of care as some of the necks were really dinged up). I ran them through a FL sizer and found that the die barily touched the case other than the neck, so in this case FL sizing wasn't necessary. The primary purpose was to get the necks back into round so I could trim, camfer and deburr them.

Mike
driftrider is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 12:21 AM
  #14  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 3,516
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

A while back I experenced the same scenario as Driftrider with R-P brass, so I spoke to a R-P Tech., and he told me new Remington brass does not have to be sized they have been sized at the factory, but the case mouth may have to be trued. Good luck.
handloader1 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 07:24 AM
  #15  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

But recently I did buy a lot of new unprimed Remington 7mm STW brass, and found that they did need to be sized for no other reason than the necks were anything but round (apparently new brass isn't handled with any type of care as some of the necks were really dinged up). I ran them through a FL sizer and found that the die barily touched the case other than the neck, so in this case FL sizing wasn't necessary. The primary purpose was to get the necks back into round so I could trim, camfer and deburr them.
I am a full believer you get cheap seconds or flaws when you guy remington brass. Reason I say, I looked over the last 200 pieces from remington and they were so dinged and the the neck runout was so bad. But I then measured the neck runout of some 50 pieces of 270win and 30-06 factory Corelokts and the runout wasn't near as bad, and I didn't see any dings. Also looked at neck thickness of fired factorys and new brass. Big difference. And this acid wash they use on the necks is getting worse and worse.
 
Old 01-02-2005, 08:11 PM
  #16  
Fork Horn
 
the Razorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 279
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

I resize new brass if for no other reason, then to make sure you have good, uniform tension between the bullet and the case neck...
the Razorhead is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 12:49 AM
  #17  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 3,516
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

Bigcountry:

I also asked the R-P Tech. why the brass is sometimes is dented and the mouths are out of round. He told me because after the brass is anneald from the shoulder up and sized it is placed in large tumblers and the brass dent each other. Good luck.
handloader1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:37 AM
  #18  
Nontypical Buck
 
driftrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coralville, IA. USA
Posts: 3,802
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

Seems to me it'd make more sense to anneal, then tumble and size last.

Mike
driftrider is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:06 AM
  #19  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: La Grange, TX
Posts: 324
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

Seconds on brass isn't right. I've bought some bad and good RP brass. Its been luck of the draw. Just like factory ammo. But its not seconds at all.

You've been told why the necks are dinged. And there is no acid wash. Thats annealing marks. If you tumbling long enough they'll go away but you'd have to pay RP extra to do that. Why worry? Annealing is good for the brass.

So much mis/dis- information floating around.

Jeff
rost495 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:07 AM
  #20  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: La Grange, TX
Posts: 324
Default RE: do i have to resize brand new brass

test
rost495 is offline  

Quick Reply: do i have to resize brand new brass


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.