HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Who uses a chronograph ? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/63877-who-uses-chronograph.html)

neweboarhunter 06-18-2004 10:59 PM

RE: Who uses a chronograph ?

What do you think of the F1 chrony ? Is it reliable and accurate?

handloader1 06-18-2004 11:12 PM

I now own a PRO CHRONY, and I feel it is a necessary tool for the serious handloader. I have been using a chrony for over ten years, and I use it every time I shoot at the range. Good luck.

MarkIIVT 06-19-2004 07:45 AM

I think it is as necessary as any piece of gear for the reloader just as dies and bras bore brushes. One truely doesn't know the velocity unless you measure it. We fret over .002 in COL or Trim to length. We as a group are looking for the velocity and accuracy, which is driving the Magnum craze.

My brother bought a Chrony F1 at a gun show for 80 dollars. Cheap. It may not be as accurate as a high price model, but you have some idea of trends. If you check the Firarms review forum for a thread "Ruger Accuracy" you will see the accuracy results for my .308 loads. But we Chronoed the loads of 5 shots average for a .308....2860 fps. That was not what excited me, all the shots were within 15 fps of each other!!!! THAT is consistancy. NOW does this mean I have a rifle/load combo to take on the 7MM and 300 Ultramags? No. The main issue is I have a consistant load. And working backwards on a measured range with drop (center averaging) we have varified the chrono reading by equation. Straitghforward math really.

The chrono is a tool, and with todays technology and as cheap as they are ther is no reason for a responsible reloader not to have one.