Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
How to select a powder? >

How to select a powder?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

How to select a powder?

Old 08-09-2022, 11:15 AM
Typical Buck

Default How to select a powder?

If limited to buying several powders how do you decide which powder would be the best one for you? Do you go by what powder gives you the highest velocity, or by the least amount of powder to give you near the highest velocity?
Old 08-09-2022, 08:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

Greatest forgiveness and least sensitivity. Those criteria will pay off as greatest precision more reliably.
Old 08-10-2022, 06:07 AM
Boone & Crockett

Originally Posted by Nomercy448
Greatest forgiveness and least sensitivity. Those criteria will pay off as greatest precision more reliably.
Please explain this. I've been loading for over 55 years now and I'm not sure what this means.
I normally selected a powder that would fill the case to the bottom of the neck with the max charge and give me the highest velocity. This would allow me a wider range from starting load to max load to work with. I always liked using as much case capacity as possible.
Old 08-10-2022, 01:31 PM
Typical Buck

I'm just curious how one decides on which powder to choose from looking at the reloading manuals as to which one may provide you with the best accuracy? Granted each rifle is different, but there must be some way to decide on one or two powders?
Old 08-10-2022, 01:47 PM
Super Moderator

ID suggest you buy and read this reload manual, its by far the best Ive found and I own over a dozen
as it gives a wealth of info like that

Amazon Amazon
Old 08-10-2022, 09:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by bronko22000
Please explain this. I've been loading for over 55 years now and I'm not sure what this means.