Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

complete newbie

Old 01-01-2018, 04:38 PM
Typical Buck

Default complete newbie

I just inherited a RCBS JR2 . Now I know I need a scale but what else should I get to get started ? There as a 222 die that came with it but nothing else
Old 01-01-2018, 06:02 PM
Fork Horn

fun and rewarding hobby you're getting into - I just started back (after 30 yr delay)--press , scales, someway to insert primers , dies , ( I found all mine on ebay ) , most important-- BOOK and everyone has a different opinion on which one .. I only do 3 rifle calibers right now but I like to " crimp" I really call it a squeeze , lube pad , you can make a better and easier lube w/ lanolin and alcohol .. you can find all this on you tube . I would suggest you do that . remember this can be very dangerous so be deliberate and maintain concentration .. have fun
Old 01-01-2018, 06:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

dial calipers, case trimmer, a set of shell holders, the list can be endless
RR
Old 01-02-2018, 01:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

In addition to the items mentioned, I'd recommend a "reloader's eraser". One of those impact bullet pullers, or a bullet puller die. It will help fix rooky mistakes, which I still make on occasion.
Old 01-02-2018, 12:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Here's a slightly modified version of my standard list of what I consider a minimal kit for reloading. I've copied and pasted this, then tried to consider your existing JR2. This list will get you loading, but recognize, by picking some of the cheaper gear available, you'll be wishing you had better gear within the first batch of ammo you produce. I'd pay a local kid to do my brass prep before I ever trim brass with a Lee case length gauge ever again - even when using a drill. Frankly, I hate loading on a single stage press even, with the exception of my highest precision loads.

Case Prep: