HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   Do different cases matter? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/391045-do-different-cases-matter.html)

bronko22000 05-11-2014 10:36 AM

Sorry but I'm calling BS on this. I am not talking mixing powders, bullets or primers. Cases are manufactured to SAAMI specs and reloading manuals have loads listed as starting loads and maximum loads. I realize that cases capacity varies from manufacturer to manufacturer but a max load is a max load regardless of case manufacturer. But that is also why I stated only if you are loading below max recommended charge. I see no reason why this is considered an irresponsible post. I've been loading for almost 50 years and I have never had an incident using mixed case brands for a specific load below a manual's listed maximum.
Now for the utmost in accuracy yes, mixing case brands will produce less accuracy due to the minor pressure differences.

Ridge Runner 05-11-2014 10:58 AM

call it what you want, brass is a mixture of copper and tin, do all manufacturers use the exact same percentage of tin, is all the tin and all the copper the exact same hardness? no 2 makes of brass will show the exact same pressure with the same load, federal brass has long been known to have 3% more case capacity than other brass of the same chambering, there is no way you can make the pressures and velocity the same using the same load. If you ever messed with any wildcats that have no saami specs and used different brass you would know what I'm talking about, but this is fact, Lapua is the best brass to be had, Winchester ain't bad IF IT WAS PROPERLY ANNEALED FROM THE FACTORY, Remington is decent brass but cheaper than the rest, norma weatherby and Dakota are also good, nosler is ok brass at lapua prices that won't handle pressure as well as Winchester.
It is what it is.
RR