Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Factory v Reloading Specs >

Factory v Reloading Specs

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Factory v Reloading Specs

Old 03-22-2014, 07:39 PM
Typical Buck

Default Factory v Reloading Specs

Yes, I am new to reloading and learning a lot and finding out a lot as I go. I decided to take numbers from the 257 Weatherby 100gr Spitzer that Weatherby sells.

Granted these are 100 grain bullets. What I am attempting to perfect are 115 TSX. Anyway, Overall length was 3.144 and whatever powder they used ( Really looked like some type of RL? who knows) it had 72 grains though. the case was trimmed to 2.540''. Even the barnes manual says 3.170 as overall length for 100 grain TSX. Just odd IMO.

It really is hard to find 257 Weatherby data(reliable) besides the reloading manuals. I trim to the minimum which is 2.539''.

Does anyone have any factory specs with the 257 using 1115 grain bullets?

Also, has anyone ever duplicate factory specs with their reloading and get results? Why are reloading manuals and factory specs differ somewhat greatly?
Old 03-23-2014, 02:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

Talking

Most Lyman manuals I have will give a factory dupcluta data.

Al
Old 03-23-2014, 04:59 AM
Typical Buck