Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Best press for a newbie >

Best press for a newbie

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Best press for a newbie

Old 01-13-2014, 08:35 PM
Spike

Default Best press for a newbie

I'm just getting started in reloading. My teenage son is all about it. So if he's helping me he is easier to keep track of. What is a good progressive machine for a newbie. Not wanting to get crazy just load up some .223 and handgun loads. Nothing super hot. Just stuff to plink with.
Old 01-14-2014, 05:58 AM
Typical Buck

My 2 cents on progressives...I am not a big fan of them, especially for rifle cartridges. That being said, I have a Dillon 550, but I use it exclusively for handgun loading. I'm still old school and use a single stage CH Magnum H press for all my rifle loading. My brother uses a Hornady Lock n Load progressive and loves it and he's relatively new to reloading. I will say this, from experiences from friends and myself...buy the best press you can possibly afford if you are going to buy a progressive...I love my Dillon and their no BS warranty is hands down unbeatable...buy once, cry once.
Old 01-14-2014, 09:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by emtrescue6
My 2 cents on progressives...I am not a big fan of them, especially for rifle cartridges. That being said, I have a Dillon 550, but I use it exclusively for handgun loading. I'm still old school and use a single stage CH Magnum H press for all my rifle loading. My brother uses a Hornady Lock n Load progressive and loves it and he's relatively new to reloading. I will say this, from experiences from friends and myself...buy the best press you can possibly afford if you are going to buy a progressive...I love my Dillon and their no BS warranty is hands down unbeatable...buy once, cry once.
.....Exactly... Well put.
Old 01-14-2014, 09:43 AM
Spike