Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
300WSM: matching a factory load >

300WSM: matching a factory load

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

300WSM: matching a factory load

Old 12-31-2013, 12:22 PM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default 300WSM: matching a factory load

My 300WSM really likes the Winchester Supreme 180 accubond. I can hold 2 - 2 1/4 inch at 200 yds. This year I have been totally unable to find any. After hunting season I am down to my last 15 rounds. They were very spendy to begin with, and nearing retirement I need to reload anyway to conserve re$our$e$. I do reload for my service rifle competitions, so I am not new to the process. I found the factory load was good, and never started reloading for the 300wsm.

I would like to duplicate the load. They advertise 3010 FPS mv. My buddy has chrono his rifle with that ammo at 2950 (Browning Abolt). I shoot a Tikka T3 lite.

I want to chrono that round out of my rifle to get a base to try to get to.

Do I dissect one of my remaining rounds and measure the powder? Anyone know what powder they use? Anyone have a matching load for the accubond?

Thanks in advance
David A is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 06:46 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Big Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West NE
Posts: 1,455
Default

You could probably get there with 4350 or 4831/sc.
Big Z is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 04:37 AM
  #3  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 538
Default

Your gun appears to shoot 180 gr Accubonds well. Take the above advice of 4350 or 4831, both should work well, work up accordingly. I would start with same length. No reason with good handloads you couldn't go from your current 1 MOA to sub MOA.
Wayspr is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 02:26 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern wv
Posts: 2,775
Default

Winchester uses ball powders in they're loads, don't be surprised if you can't beat the accuracy using say H-4350 or IMR4831
RR
Ridge Runner is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.