HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   New to reloading... have some ?'s (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/356690-new-reloading-have-some-s.html)

hunt12ga 01-06-2012 06:41 PM

New to reloading... have some ?'s

I'm not new here, but I am new to this end of the forum. I know very very little about reloading, and I am starting to look for information.

My best friend has recently gotten into reloading through his father-in-law. He has all the necessary equipment and has worked up some nice loads for his rifles. I recently got a .243 barrel for my Optima Elite and I've tried a few factory rounds. 100gr Winchester Power Points and 95gr Hornady Superformance SST's. Neither did what I was hoping for. So he/we are going to try to get something worked up that will smoke coyotes.

I have read through dozens of old forum discussions regarding .243 loads in general, loads for this specific rifle, etc. Weighing all the info I drug in, along with the fact that so far my rifle didn't like the heavier bullets, I ordered some 65gr V-Max bullets. My friend reloads his .243's with Varget. We are going to try that first since it is on hand. Supposing we change up the charge and find something that groups well, I'll be set. From what I have read though, Varget is magical in some rifles and terrible in others. If this combo doesn't work out,
1) What would be my next best bet for powder? What is a powder that has proven effective in various rifles with 60-80gr bullets?

and

2) What would be my next best bet for bullets? I'm wanting something that will group well and kill 'yotes. I don't care about pelt damage.

Anything else you want to throw in will be appreciated too. Thanks

rw

homers brother 01-07-2012 06:35 AM

As long as you're attempting to "fine-tune" your ammunition, consider the other variables that may be affecting your primary metric of "group size":