Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Best Reloading Manual >

Best Reloading Manual

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Best Reloading Manual

Old 10-02-2011, 08:24 AM
Spike

The more I know about reloading the more I realize I don't know about reloading. I am only a beginner and want to learn alot on the subject but will need to take it one small step at a time.

I still don't understand the full importance of a chronograph IF I am careful and I keep consistent with my other aspects of reloading.

My current goal is to become accurate with my hunting loads. Most of my shots will be under 200 yards and rarely up to 400 yards.

I currently use only the same type brass, same primers, clean inside and out of the flash holes, measure length of brass and length of finished load, use the same powder, and trickle charge every load.

I thought once I found a weight in powder that gave me the best group I stay with that. I would also compare different powders against each other to see if one powder would work better than another in my gun.

If I trickle charge every load and if my brass, primers, etc are consistent shouldn't the veolcity be roughly the same and therefore not need a chronograph?

I was also considering picking up a concentricity tool but wonder about the importance of that.

I understand how important the chronograph and the concentricity tools plus the Lapua brass and the match grade primers, etc. are if I'm shooting for competition or want 1/2" groups at mega yardages but are they really needed for developing a good hunting load to put that bullet in an elk's boiler room at 350 yards.

I enjoy reading everyone's thoughts on this. Thank you!
Old 10-02-2011, 12:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Double Droptine